This Is The Thread Where Retro Says Why He Doesn't Like SC2

Let's make some video games!

Moderator: Ice Cream Jonsey

pinback

This Is The Thread Where Retro Says Why He Doesn't Like SC2

Post by pinback »

I don't know how to demand it any harder than creating a thread for it, and crafting the title of the thread so there's but one character to spare in the thread title length limit.
I don't have to say anything. I'm a doctor, too.

RetroRomper

Post by RetroRomper »

Okay, okay...
pinback wrote:
RetroRomper wrote:if taken as a game I don't actually enjoy SCII to a great extent but as a product, the redefinition allows a less narrow perspective on the issue.
I don't know what any of this means, and don't remember you discussing it with me.
Lets differentiate between...

Reasons I do not like Starcraft II

1) Not a single person nor "game outlet" pointed out how the narrative structure of the single player portion of SCII changed from the first. It went completely overlooked that they decided to shift the focus from the player to the cliche set of characterizations that were embodied in the storyline. Though I had fun and enjoyed the experience, Blizzard wasn't pushing the envelope and actually regressed in their ability to weave a tale.

2) The unit and planet choices in the single player game were basically a weird mutation of the Dune II formula. DUNE II. There wasn't a single new, creative or exploitative concept in that part of the game. Blizzard polished it beyond belief, the presentation and execution were top notch, but the way they told the story in SCI and Diablo II were completely absent and replaced with the bland, normal archetypes I expect from a Baen science fiction novel or blockbuster film.