Have you ever bought a free game?

The Future of Radio begins now.

Moderators: Ice Cream Jonsey, joltcountry

Have you ever (knowingly) paid for a free game?

Yes, and will likely do so again!
63%
Yes, but probably not again.
No votes
No, but I could see doing it for a game/developer I really wanted to support.
25%
No, that's the dumbest thing I can think of.
13%

Total votes: 8

pinback

Have you ever bought a free game?

Post by pinback »

In honor of today's Steam release of 40-year-old roguelike Rogue, we here at The Poll Base want to hear from YOU!
I don't have to say anything. I'm a doctor, too.

Flack

Re: Have you ever bought a free game?

Post by Flack »

I'm pretty sure I bought some of Robb's games, even though they were available for free download.

I'm buying Rogue for the convenience of being able to play it on Steam. The original doesn't run natively on newer (64-bit) machines, which means I have to fire up DOSBox to play it. It'll be easier just to play it inside Steam. Plus as a kid I used to always say "sure I pirate games, but if I *like* it enough, I'll *BUY* it." I guess after 40 years, Epyx* earned my five bucks.

(*$0 of the $5 will be going to Epyx.)
"I failed a savings throw and now I am back."

Ice Cream Jonsey

Post by Ice Cream Jonsey »

Great poll. I got THOUGHTS.

Not only have I paid money for ostensibly free games, but I have paid money to Kickstarters to absolute scamming dickwads who never had an intention of finishing their game.

I think the current tally of games that got tons of money and the authors just, YA KNOW, lost interest in doing the thing they were supposed to do is:

"Order of the Thorne" & "Roehm To Ruin" by Infamous Quests ($31,000 to make three games. They actually released one. I have no idea why they announced they were making three games, but that's Kickstarter for you.)