Noom Free Trial Thread

Celebrity Monologues. This base allows guest posting, but please register for the full experience.

Moderators: AArdvark, Ice Cream Jonsey

pinback

Noom Free Trial Thread

Post by pinback »

I gathered from their TV ads, and word-of-mouth, that it's a cognitive-behavior therapy/mindfulness-based weight loss thing. As I already came up with that idea and they stole it from me, I signed up for the 14 day free trial just to see how they're doing it.

I'll report my findings here, but the main point of this thread is to continually remind me to cancel the account before 5/15, when the free trial runs out.
I don't have to say anything. I'm a doctor, too.

pinback

Re: Noom Free Trial Thread

Post by pinback »

So far here is my take:

It is a combination of excellent nutritional/dieting advice, mixed with a healthy dose of cognitive therapy and mindfulness exercises, programmed to encourage you at every step to continue making progress, continue logging your behavior, continue questioning what is really going on with the decisions you're making, etc. It's great! EXCEPT:

Except it's packaged in this Goofy, Jokey, Hokey, Wacky Way which I cannot imagine would appeal to anyone under the age of 70 or who has ever been on the internet before. I'll list some examples later, but it's extremely annoying and obnoxious. Don't kid around with me, don't do schtick, just, as Tom Cruise said in Magnolia, give me the information.

So I'd say, if you can stand the cornball crap, everything else is great, and you will lose weight on it, if you want to lose weight.

If you're in the weight-loss sphere, I would definitely sign up for the 14-day trial, so you can see what I'm talking about, and decide if you can take it.
I don't have to say anything. I'm a doctor, too.

Ice Cream Jonsey

Post by Ice Cream Jonsey »