Robb's Arcade History Thread - a Thread

Arcade Games & Cooking.

Moderators: AArdvark, Ice Cream Jonsey

Ice Cream Jonsey

Robb's Arcade History Thread - a Thread

Post by Ice Cream Jonsey »

I was going to do this in chronological order, but thinking it over the story of Xenophobe is an exhausting one. So I am not going to do that. I was going to try to take pictures of all the games working, but I am avoiding turning them on in the winter. But the Centipede cocktail is inside. So we'll start with that one.
the dark and gritty...Ice Cream Jonsey!

pinback

Re: Robb's Arcade History Thread - a Thread

Post by pinback »

Ice Cream Jonsey wrote: Sun Feb 28, 2021 12:20 pmthe story of Xenophobe is an exhausting one.
Physically and otherwise!
I don't have to say anything. I'm a doctor, too.

Ice Cream Jonsey

pinback wrote: Sun Feb 28, 2021 12:44 pm
Ice Cream Jonsey wrote: Sun Feb 28, 2021 12:20 pmthe story of Xenophobe is an exhausting one.
Physically and otherwise!
I can't imagine moving something that heavy now. Except for my own body. SIGH.

Ice Cream Jonsey

Centipede

This is a cocktail machine that I bought on July 31st, 2020 from a collector a few exits away from me. We had my wife's father's truck at our house for some reason. This was during a very dead area of the pandemic where nobody went anywhere or did anything and nobody was getting vaccinated. There wasn't much to do in terms of leisure activity for a guy like me except for going on craigslist and wishing on arcade games.

The standup version is, of course, superior because it has that kick-ass side art. And I had one of those at one point. I sold it to the 1UP in Denver when I went to move in with my wife the first time. But this is still pretty fun - love the fact that I have two trackballs for it, the screen on this one is nice and bright, great sound. It's a nice game from the 80s and not a piece of crap like many of the ones I bought were when I first started collecting.