What do I do?

Arcade Games & Cooking.

Moderators: AArdvark, Ice Cream Jonsey

pinback

What do I do?

Post by pinback »

I screwed up. I bought some frozen sockeye salmon, thawed them out on the counter, but then noticed that the packaging said that you should take the shrink-wrap plastic off of them before thawing.

I looked it up on Google and it says that if you thaw it in the shrink-wrap, there's a chance you could get botulism!

Should I throw the salmon out??
I don't have to say anything. I'm a doctor, too.

AArdvark

Re: What do I do?

Post by AArdvark »

Fish is gross in any form. Toss the fish before it kills you!

Tdarcos

Post by Tdarcos »

Just remember, no matter what the problem is, there's always one solution that is available. No matter how trivial, suicide will always solve any problem. So go ahead and eat the fish, since if they've got botulism, that's what eating it would be, suicide.

If you find that solution unsatisfactory, then I'd say, do not take chances, throw this one away, then go buy another package of salmon. Yes, I know it's going to hurt, since salmon costs about $20-30 a pound, but consider it an educational expense. Unless you have a means to test for contamination, you can't be certain.

I've often said, back when I was in my wheelchair, that I'm not that broke that I have to eat whatever I have regardless of condition. When food is bad, I toss it. If a slice of bread or a hamburger bun has mold, I consider the entire bag contaminated, and trash it.

If there is a serious potential in some food you have, for injury or worse, the risks are too high to eat it. Besides, people routinely waste 20-50% of the food they buy. This is just another item wasted due to violation of food safety rules.
Alan Francis wrote a book containing everything men understand about women. It consisted of 100 blank pages.

pinback

Post by pinback »