Fixing Crystal Castles

Arcade Games & Cooking.

Moderators: AArdvark, Ice Cream Jonsey

Ice Cream Jonsey

Fixing Crystal Castles

Post by Ice Cream Jonsey »

OK, the information I received indicated that the big blue capacitor needs to be replaced. Pics!!

I'll be DAMNED if I can't get the last screw off, though. I think I need to take the monitor off, but I am worried about there being a charge left in the thing. Fuck, I wish I paid more attention in shop class.

But I'm really just hoping that the last screen to come off on big blue is the last thing I need to do to get it removed... the replacement part I have has two female connectors and they are threaded. How the hell do you twist something with TWO female threads?
the dark and gritty...Ice Cream Jonsey!

pinback

Post by pinback »

I dunno, but sign me up!
I don't have to say anything. I'm a doctor, too.

Ice Cream Jonsey

Okay, I can now move the blue capacitor up and down. I reckon wires are keeping me from completely taking it out.

So... I have a replacement.

WHERE THE FUCK DO THE WIRES GO?!?!!??! Do you wrap them around the two protruding bits on the end of it? That can't be it, I mean, it just can't be. I can't believe this has been going on like this for six months. I am going crazy with that thing in my bedroom, broken, like it is.

JQW

Post by JQW »

Are those nuts on top? If so, you probably unscrew them a few turns, slide the wire underneath, and retighten.

It sounds like it should be really easy:

"Here is what you will need to repair your game. A phillips screwdriver and a new big blue cap. ... This is a real easy thing to change out. It is so large that it is easy to replace, you won't even need any instructions at all. Just take out the old one, and put the new one in. Very simple."

It looks like you don't even have to do anything with those caps. Maybe it rests on some posts with the power wires inside. Hard to tell from the pic.